Chesapeake Bay Trust’s annual awards program seeking applications

ANNAPOLIS — The Chesapeake Bay Trust is currently seeking applications and nominations for its 2015 annual scholarship and awards program. Launched in 1998, the Trust’s Annual Awards Program honors students, teachers, individuals, communities and organizations for their work to promote education, improve local communities and help restore the Chesapeake Bay.


Currently the Trust is soliciting applications and/or nominations for five awards: Teacher of the Year, Student of the Year, Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship, Ellen Fraites Wagner Award, and the Melanie Teems Award.  The winners of the Honorable Arthur Dorman and Student of the Year awards will receive $5,000 scholarships and the Teacher of the Year will be awarded a $2,500 grant to support environmental education at his or her school.


The deadline to submit a nomination is Friday, December 5, 2014 at 5:00 pm. All applicants must be residents of Maryland and can complete the application or be nominated by someone who is not related to them. The winners will be announced during the Chesapeake Bay Trust’s Legislative Reception to be held in January 2015. For complete details and to submit an online application, visit 


The Chesapeake Bay Trust’s 2015 Awards Program includes:


Teacher of the Year $2,500 Grant Award
Awarded to a Maryland educator who has shown an outstanding commitment to environmental education, who motivates and inspires students, and serves as a respected resource to colleagues and community leaders. The winner will receive a $2,500 grant to support their environmental education work.

Student of the Year $5,000 Scholarship
Awarded to a Maryland high school or college student who motivates and inspires others and participates in efforts to improve the local environment and/or community. The winner will receive a $5,000 scholarship award.

Honorable Arthur Dorman $5,000 Scholarship
Recognizes a Maryland high school or college student of color who motivates and inspires others and participates in efforts to improve the local environment and/or the community. The winner will receive a $5,000 scholarship award.

Ellen Fraites Wagner Award
Recognizes an individual who works to improve the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, motivates and inspires others by promoting environmental awareness throughout the community, and leads successful restoration efforts.
Melanie Teems Award
Honors a project or program that engages citizens in efforts to improve the environment through demonstration-based projects or programs, serves as a model for other organizations, and uses the resources of the Chesapeake Bay Trust.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment